LR Alumni

The Little Rock Alumni Chapter welcomes you.
We hold our chapter meetings at Parkview High School, at 5:30pm every third Saturday.

The Little Rock Alumni Chapter has the following Undergraduate Chapters under it’s jurisdiction:
Theta Epsilon - University of Arkansas at Little Rock
Beta Tau - Philander Smith College
Pi Lambda - Arkansas Baptist College

Chapter History

In 1936, there were over fifteen brothers in the state of Arkansas who had been initiated into the fraternity at different colleges. They desired to have a chapter started. Contact was made to the brothers throughout the state by letters and also telephone messages.

In the spring of 1938, seven brothers from Little Rock and Pine Bluff came together to form a club named Kappa’s of Arkansas. They solicited the aid of Oliver W. Crump, a professor at Wiley College, who at the time was Polemarch of the Southwest Province.

August 3, 1938, would see the chartering of the Little Rock Alumni Chapter. This chapter, in the beginning, was composed of the following brothers:

  1. Harry P. Browne – Mu Chapter, University of Kansas. Doctor of Pharmacy; Meharry Medical College (MDD) College Physician at AM&N (UAPB) also a Practicing Physician, Pine Bluff, Arkansas.
  2. Hugh A. Browne – Mu Chapter, University of Kansas (AB), Howard University (MD). The first Superintendent and Medical Director of the McRae Sanitarium, a State Institution for Black Tubercular patients. It was located 15 miles west of Little Rock. One of the four physicians that integrated the white medical society. Pulaski County, State of Arkansas, AMA and the Hospitals. A recognized authority on tuberculosis. Second Polemarch of the chapter, fifth Provincial Polemarch of this province and Chairman of the Old Extension Committee of the Grand Chapter that regulated the initiation of both undergraduate and alumni brothers also the establishment of chapters at the various colleges in the United States. 33rd Degree Mason – Alexander, Arkansas.
  3. Sherman L. Green – Delta Chapter, Wilberforce University (AB), Payne Seminary (DD). A former President of Campbell College, Jackson, Mississippi, Chancellor of Shorter College, Persiding Bishop of the AME Church, 12th Episcopal District. A delegate to the World Peace Conference in 1938, Oxford, England. Little Rock, Arkansas.
  4. Howard L. “Squat” Johnson – Pi Chapter, Morehouse College, Clark University (AB), Atlanta University (MA). All American Basketball Player. President of Old Dunbar Junior College, established Johnson Enterprise which consisted of The Charmaine Hotel, Restaurant and Business School. Football coach Philander Smith College, President of Arkansas Baptist College. Third Polemarch of the chapter. Established Beta Tau and Gamma Sigma Chapter, Fourth Provincial Polemarch, Delegate of the Grand Chapters of the fraternity. Little Rock, Arkansas.
  5. John D. “Brute” Russel – Delta Chapter, Wilberforce University (BS). Assistant Football Coach AM&N College (UAPB). Later he was hired as the Football Coach at Dunbar High School. During his tenure of four years he had three championship teams. Pine Bluff, Arkansas (deceased).
  6. Oba B. White – Mu Chapter, University of Kansas (AB), Meharry Medical College (MD). Staff Physician, McRae Memorial Sanitarium, Assistant Superintendent United Friends Hospital, one of the four that integrated with the White Medical Society, Pulaski County, State and AHA. First black elected to the Pulaski County Academy of Family Practice where he served as secretary for two years and president for two years. Staff physician at Baptist Medical System Hospital, St. Vincent Infirmary and the Missouri Pacific Hospital. Keeper of Records and Exchequer of the Little Rock Alumni Chapter for thirty years. Chaired the Old National Extension Committee of the Grand Chapter – Sixth Provincial Polemarch. Established the Pine Bluff Alumni Chapter while Provincial Polemarch. Elder W. Diggs Laureate. First Black Member of the Chamber of Commerce where he later served as Director for three years. 33rd Degree Mason. Practicing physician, Little Rock, Arkansas. He was National Chairman of the Life Membership Committee for ten years. He increased the membership from 1870 to 4612 members with 1200 subscribing.
  7. A. O. Wilson – Delta Chapter, Wilberforce University, Payne Seminary (DD) President Shorter College, Presiding Elder, Paster of Bethel AME Church, the largest church in the state. The First Polemarch of the Little Rock Alumni Chapter. Little Rock, Arkansas.

The three Province Polemarchs of this chapter started the vast expansion of this Province. In 1946, there were only sixteen chapters. In a span of ten years there was an increase of about twelve or more chapters.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>